Share this story

Ramadan is a special time in the Muslim calendar, that marks the month that the Qur’an was revealed to the prophet Muhammad. During this period, Muslim people refrain from having food or drink during daylight hours; a practice known as fasting.

This year, Ramadan is set to start on 10th March and finish on 8th April, although the date is subject to change as it is dependent on the moon cycle.

At the end of Ramadan, Muslim families celebrate Eid al Fitr. During the celebrations families share food, presents and spend time with each other. Many people decorate their houses, too.

During the weeks leading up to Eid, discuss with your class how children around the world might be marking this important time of year. Here are our top 4 books to do this with your pupils:

The Most Exciting Eid by Zeba Talkhani

Age Range: EYFS

A very sweet story about a young girl called Safa, who is so excited about her Eid present (a pink bike!) that she is reluctant to share it with anyone. She soon discovers that sharing things with our friends and family at times of celebration is lots of fun.

We also love the non-fiction page in this book that tells young readers a little more about Eid.

Ramadan Moon by Na’ima B Robert and Shirin Adl

Age Range: KS1

A beautiful explanation of why the month of Ramadan is so important. Great for a class discussion as it is easily accessible and informative.

Meet the Maliks: Twin Detectives by Zanib Mian

Age Range: KS2

A story of two siblings who are total opposites. Follow their adventure as they navigate Ramadan, stolen cookies and family fall-outs. Fans of Planet Omar, Zanib Mian’s previous story, will enjoy this one!

Once Upon an Eid: Stories of Hope and Joy by 15 Muslim Voices

Age Range: KS2

A simply stunning collection of stories that paint a wonderful picture of the ‘every-day’ joys of Eid celebrations. This book will delight young readers who are eager to find out more about what Eid is all about, or those who already celebrate Eid and can reflect their own experiences in the book.

Other Blogs

25th March 2024

An ever increasing topic in primary schools; children are more aware than ever about environmental sustainability. From recycling initiatives…

Read More

18th March 2024

It is estimated that 1 in 7 people in the UK are neurodivergent (Source – Neurodiversity – The…

Read More

11th March 2024

Spring is synonymous with fresh, lighter days and new starts. Flowers are beginning to bloom; daffodils, crocuses and snow…

Read More

6th March 2024

Thinking back on our own time at primary school, we feel nostalgic about the friendships that we made. Seemingly…

Read More

27th February 2024

Ramadan is a special time in the Muslim calendar, that marks the month that the Qur’an was revealed to…

Read More

26th February 2024

Celebrate reading on World Book Day with our 2 brand new free lesson plans! Specially designed by The Story…

Read More
View all

Our Partners

We’re grateful to the following organisations for their funding and support. With their help, we are building a community to inspire lifelong wellbeing.

Featured In

We’re proud of what others have to say about us. Take a look at some of the media coverage we’ve attracted.

The Story Project Vision

We believe in a future where all children have the tools, skills and knowledge they need to practise life-long wellbeing, making healthier choices for themselves and others.

On Instagram